

# Consultation for Permanent Removal of the Skerries Bank Buoy



## Position: SW England, Start Bay, 50° 16.315'N 003° 33.771'W

Following extensive analysis of the maritime traffic in the area of the approach to Dartmouth and the Skerries Bank, Trinity House are proposing to permanently discontinue the Port Hand Unlit Lateral Mark at Skerries Bank. As circled.

The traffic analysis has shown that the area of the bank and approach to Dartmouth is adequately covered by the sectored light at Start Point and the sectored approach light at Kingswear. The analysis also shows that the buoy could be creating an obstacle for vessels operating in this area.

A consultation period will run until 16 April 2018 so that stakeholders in the area and those concerned with maritime safety can provide comments for further consideration by Trinity House.

Please be advised that no response to this consultation will be deemed to be an acceptance to this proposal.

Please write or e-mail, referring to "Skerries Bank Buoy Consultation" by 16 April 2018 to:

Stephen Vanstone Navigation Services Officer Navigation Directorate Trinity House Trinity Square London EC3N 4DH

E-mail:- stephen.vanstone@thls.org

16 January 2018

### **Distribution List:**

# Members of THUCC:

Stuart Carruthers, Cruising Manager, Royal Yachting Association Adrian Mundin, UK Chamber of Shipping Robert Greenwood, National Federation of Fishermen's Organisations Chris Walton, United Kingdom Hydrographic Office John Hasselgren, Royal Institute of Navigation Harry Gale, Nautical Institute Andy Clift, Royal National Lifeboat Institution Allan Graveson, NAUTILUS

# Port & Harbour Authorities:

Roydon Painter, Harbour Master, Mousehole Harbour Authority Rob Parsons, Harbour Master, Newlyn Pier and Harbour Commissioners Neil Clark, Penzance Harbour Master, Cornwall Council Phil Ward, Harbour Master, Porthleven Harbour & Dock Company Lloyd Pond, Assistant Harbour Master, Falmouth Harbour Commissioners Mark Killingback, Harbour Master Falmouth, Cornwall Council Martin Bidmead, Harbour Master, St Mawes Pier & Harbour Company Matt Wheeler, Harbour Master, Mevagissev Harbour Trustees Paul Thomas, Harbour Master, Fowey Harbour Commissioners Tina Hicks, Harbour Master, Looe Harbour Commissioners Laurie Birch, Senior Maritime Assistant, Cornwall Council Pete Bromley, Harbour Master, Sutton Harbour Company David Vaughan, Harbour Master, Associated British Ports Plymouth & Teignmouth Harbour Commission Tim Charlesworth, Harbour Master, Cattewater Harbour Commissioners Bob Read, Harbour Master, River Yealm Harbour Authority Chris Gill, Assistant Harbour Master, South Hams District Council Mark Cooper, Harbour Master, Dart Harbour & Navigation Authority Adam Parnell, Harbour Master, Torbay Borough Council Colin Acton, Team Manager Waterways, Exeter City Council Pete Poulson, Harbour Master, Axmouth Harbour Management Company James Radcliffe, Harbour Master, West Dorset District Council

#### Other Representative Organisations and Individuals:

Colin Heywood, Cruising Association Ray Darlison, Hon. Secretary, Penzance Sailing Club Jonathan Hearth, Secretary, Salcombe Yacht Club James Dodd, Moorings Officer, Royal Dart Yacht Club Giles Bowerman, Secretary, Teign Corinthian Yacht Club

#### **Copied for Information:**

Graeme Proctor, Inspector of Seamarks, Trinity House Joseph Anderson, Local AtoN Manager, Trinity House Rakesh Pandit, Safety of Navigation Branch, Maritime & Coastguard Agency Simon Millyard, Engineering & Operations Manager, Trinity House Neil Jones, Public Relations & Records Manager, Trinity House